KUCIMAT Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes individuals who have, through cumulative career achievements and successes furthered the purpose of the KUCIMAT organization.

2021 Winners

Joe Hoefgen

Joe Hoefgen
(MPA 1989)

Joe Hoefgen (MPA 1989) completed a nearly 35-year career in local government before retiring in November of 2021 as the City Manager of Redondo Beach, CA. Joe brought a strong background in policy and program development, labor relations, human resources, and budget oversight to the Manager's office. He simultaneously served as the Human Resources Director and the City Manager for a period after the HR Director position was vacant. He leaves a strong legacy of a high performing team serving the City of Redondo Beach.

Ed Zuercher

Ed Zuercher
(MPA 1994)

In October of 2021, Ed Zuercher (MPA 1994) retired from 28 years of service to the City of Phoenix, AZ. He was nominated by 3 of his classmates, all who are active on our alumni board. As part of their nomination they wrote, "through his leadership, the Phoenix team has focused on the key principles of exceptional customer service, integrity and transparency, respect for diversity, personal empowerment, engaged teamwork, consistent professionalism, and creativity and innovation for excellent results. Ed and the Phoenix team has delivered positive results for the community as the City of Phoenix has been recognized by Governing Magazine and Living Cities as a top city for innovation and high-performance governance."

Past Winners

2021Joe HoefgenCity ManagerRedondo Beach, CA
2021Ed ZuercherCity ManagerPhoenix, AZ
2020Karen DavisExecutive DirectorLocal Government Hispanic Network
2019Kevin FrazellRetiredLeague of Minnesota Cities
2018Craig Weinhaug Douglas County, KS
2017Mark Watson Oak Ridge, TN
2015Alan Simsformer City ManagerCedar Hill, TX
2014Dennis Haysformer County AdministratorUnified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, KS
2013Jan Perkins Management Partners, Inc.
2012Bob LivingstonCity ManagerUniversity Park, TX
2011Bob HerchertPresident/CEO of Freese and NicholsFort Worth, TX
2010Ray Hummert KU School of Public Affairs & Administration
2009Bill Ramseyformer Director Municipal ServicesOlathe, KS
2008Fred SiemsRetired City AdministratorCity of Blue Springs, MO
2007Chuck Anderson Waters Group
2006Tom MuelenbeckCity ManagerPlano, TX
2005Al Thelan Management Consultant
2004Alan Morrisformer County AdministratorMiami County, KS
2003Lou FoxCity ManagerLubbock, TX
2002Richard Chesneyformer Dep. Co. AdministratorJohnson Co, KS
2001Marion GoodellAdministrative DirectorKU Stene Program
2000Gene Dentonformer AdministratorJohnson County, KS
2000Gerald Foxformer AdministratorMecklenburg County, NC
1996George R. Schraderformer City ManagerDallas, TX
1996Richard D. Thomasformer City ManagerSanta Barbara, CA
1995Robert A. Kippformer City ManagerKansas City, MO
1994Donald E. PipesCity ManagerOverland Park, KS
1993Leland Nelsonformer City ManagerUniversity Park, TX