Edwin O. Stene Award for Managerial Excellence

This award recognizes individuals who have performed in an exceptional manner in the management of the organization in which they are employed.

This may include the establishment of a new and innovative program, resolution of a difficult organizational problem, completion of a long-term organization goal, or for tangible commitment to advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in our profession.

2021 Winners

Travis Machalek

Travis Machalek
(MPA 2005)

Travis Machlalek (MPA 2005) is currently serving as the Town Administrator of Estes Park, CO. Travis's nomination recognized him for his leadership in securing the safety of the citizens of Estes Park as the Cameron Peak and East Troublesome Wildfires threatened their community in the 2020 fire season. 

Nolan Klouda

Nolan Klouda
(MPA 2009)

Nolan Klouda (MPA 2009) is currently serving as the Executive Director of the University of Alaska Center for Economic Development (CED). He was recognized for his efforts in leading Alaska's leaders and residents to understand the economic impact of COVID and helping lead the state's recovery efforts.

Past Winners

2021Travis MachalekTown AdministratorEstes Park, CO
2021Nolan KloudaExecutive DirectorUniversity of Alaska Center for Economic Development
2020Sam HoghtelingTitleStraayer Center, Colorado State University
2020Steve PowersCity ManagerCity of Salem, OR
2019Kelly GreunkeBudget Operations ManagerCity/County of Denver, CO
2018Chuck CowardRetiredIndian Rocks Beach, FL
2017Hannes ZachariasRetiredJohnson County KS
2014Sherilyn LombosCity ManagerTualatin, OR
2013Clay PearsonCity ManagerNovi, MN
2012Carol GonzalezCity ManagerCity of Shawnee, KS
2012Susan ShermanAssistant City ManagerOlathe, KS