Dena Laurent Sorenson Courage Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made personal and/or professional progress by overcoming obstacles through exceptional courage, fortitude and adherence to the high ideals which exemplify the urban management profession.


2023 Winner


Jamie Shew
(MPA 2010)

“Jamie is a leader in the elections field, a wonderful public servant, a tireless advocate for election integrity, transparency, and the voters of Douglas County, KS. He exemplifies a true profile in courage and is very much deserving of this honor.”

- Jon Fisk (MPA 2009)

Past Winners

2023Jamie Shew
2020Chante' Mitchell
2018Angela Harness Cline
2015Walter Denton
2013Rachel Hut Bremen
2010Stan Stewart
2007Carol Nalbandian
2005Kate Smith
2004Sandra Tripp Jones
2003Tansy Hayward
2001Dena Laurent Sorenson
1994Teddy C. Ryan, Jr.
1993David Davis